What Hur victory symbolizes

Posted on October 26, 2010

0


Joong Ang Daily on Hur Gak, the latest winner of South Korea’s most popular televised singing contest

What made Superstar K so popular among viewers and what does Hur Gak’s victory symbolize?

In the eyes of viewers, Hur, who came from a low-income, single-parent family and is part of the so-called 880,000-won-a-month generation, was likely perceived as one of the many underdogs in our society. Just 163 centimeters (5 feet, 4 inches) tall and somewhat stocky for his height, he was clearly less handsome than his main rival. Unlike his U.S.-educated competitor, Hur only has a middle school education and cannot speak English at all. After his win, he said: “I never thought that I was the protagonist of my life and I am satisfied with my role of supporting someone else.”

Read more

And  a short clip of Hur Gak at the semi-finals.

Posted in: Music & Dance